The Financial Cost of Peace Corps

When people think of Peace Corps, the first thing that comes to mind is volunteering abroad. Then, it’s the 27-month commitment. That’s pretty much all. I’ll admit, that’s the most context I had when applying. Even after reading the website and reading past and current PCV blogs – nobody ever really talks about what it’s like after you’ve applied, interviewed, and been invited. What is the in-between process really like?

I was recently invited to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Indonesia as an English Teacher and Teacher Trainer – pending legal and medical clearance. What this means is that my invitation is entirely conditional on whether or not I pass both the legal and medical clearances that Peace Corps requires all prospective volunteers to go through. When I first accepted my invitation, I thought: “It’s fine. It won’t be that bad.”

Boy, was I wrong.

I have so much paperwork to complete right now, and even when I think I’ve finished one part of it – SURPRISE! – it’s not done yet. Here is everything that is expected of me to complete:

  1. 2 fingerprint cards – completed and mailed
  2. A Peace Corps passport application
  3. An Indonesian Visa application
  4. A dental exam and x-ray (and any necessary treatments after)
  5. A Health History Positive Response Form (which must be signed off on by a doctor)
  6. A physical exam
  7. Lab tests for HIV, CBC, Hepatitis B surface antibody, Hepatitis B surface antigen, Hepatitis C antibody, basic metabolic panel, G6PD, and a TB Screening
  8. Cervical Cancer Screening and Pap Cytology Report
  9. A Polio Booster
  10. My vaccination records – and to receive certain vaccinations if not already vaccinated

What they don’t tell you is that this all adds up financially. I’ve only completed my dental exam and x-ray and fingerprinting cards so far – and already my bank account is suffering.

Now, Peace Corps does reimburse applicants for some of the costs of the items on the required list. But, it’s not very substantial reimbursement.

I spent $30 on fingerprinting and $15 for USPS Priority Mail just to get my forms to D.C. on time, totaling $45 just for one task. And that task is one that Peace Corps will not reimburse you for. Thankfully, when I got my dental x-rays and exam, the place I found did it for only $10 – but thanks to a pesky cavity and a small case of gingivitis, I had to book a cleaning appointment, which totaled around $247 – and will NOT be reimbursed by Peace Corps. This means that so far, I will only be reimbursed $10, even though I’ve spent roughly $302.

I’ve only knocked two items off of the list.

Don’t get me wrong – I can understand why Peace Corps wants their prospective volunteers to complete these tasks. It’s a rigorous program and they want proof of viability. Totally understandable. What frustrates me is the lack of financial compensation. And I think now I’m finally understanding why so many volunteers come from privileged backgrounds – it’s because the rest can’t afford to jump through all of the hoops. Especially since you only get two months to complete it all.

I’m lucky enough to come from a financially well-off family. I’m even luckier that my family can help me out with these costs. A lot of others, however, are not so lucky. There are so many people out there who may be willing enough, capable enough, and experienced enough to serve in Peace Corps – but probably never will due to the financial stress it causes just to get into the program.

I’m not saying that it’s at the fault of Peace Corps. Funding is limited and only so much money can be allotted towards each Volunteer. But I think there’s a certain amount of oversight that occurs where those in charge may not give much thought to how high the cost really is to be legally/medically cleared and invited. I haven’t even made it halfway through the list of tasks and already I’m overwhelmed and stressed by how much this is going to cost me.

Is it worth it? I definitely think it will be. For me. But there are others out there who can’t say the same. Just something to think about.

2 thoughts on “The Financial Cost of Peace Corps

  1. I thought about this also during my application process. Made me reflect upon my privilege. And how a certain baseline of privilege is built into even being able to become a volunteer in the first place, despite your skills or life experiences.

    Like

Leave a comment